2022 Wells Fargo Championship Betting Preview, Odds, Picks & Predictions

<p>AP Photos</p>

AP Photos

author favicon
OddsJam StaffMay 8, 2022, 03:40 PM

Despite not having a superstar field like some of the more historic tournaments this season, the Mexico Open’s debut on the PGA Tour did not fall flat. Heavy betting favorite, Jon Rahm, finished atop the leaderboard for his first win of the season and 7th of his career.

It had been nearly a year since Rahm’s last win and he did it in wire to wire fashion, the 3rd golfer to do so this season — not to mention Patrick Cantlay and Xander Schauffele’s win at the Zurich Classic. Rahm started strong with a 64 (-7) but allowed others to linger all weekend. Both, Tony Finau and Brandon Wu, shot final round 63s and were tied leaders in the clubhouse — Rahm birdied 14 which led to his 1 stroke lead and win.

This week the PGA tour heads back to the states for its only trip to Maryland for the Wells Fargo Championship.

2022 Wells Fargo Championship Event Information

  • Date: May 5-8 2022
  • Course: TPC Potomac at Avenel Farm, Potomac, MD
  • Purse: $9,000,000
  • Defending Champ: Rory McIlroy

The Wells Fargo Championship began in 2003 and will be slightly different then previous years as it will be held at TPC Potomac at Avenel Farm, rather than its typical host course, Quail Hollow Club in Charlotte NC —  Quail Hollow is currently preparing to host the 2022 Presidents Cup in September. 

What Course Is The Wells Fargo Championship Held At?

While TPC Potomac at Avenel Farm has not ever hosted the Wells Fargo Championship, it is no stranger to PGA Tour events. It held various PGA tournaments from 1987-2006 and again in 2017 and 2018 hosting Tiger Woods’ Quicken Loans National. The course was initially opened in 1986 and designed by Ed Ault, Tom Clark and Ed Sneed, however, what we will see this weekend would be nearly unrecognizable to the original design — it underwent major renovations in 2007, costing $32 million.

The renovations did not disappoint and the course shows it. Playing 7,160 yards to par 70, the course is tight with trees, creeks and rivers running through it; so accuracy off the tee will be extremely important to avoid the rough and setup approach shots into some of the smallest greens on tour on average.

While players often count on the par 5s for scoring they will only have 2 chances to do so this weekend and it won’t be easy. The par 5s, holes 2 and 10, measure 642 and 572 respectively and the former speaks for itself as a true 3 stroke approach, the latter will not make it easy to reach in 2 and will have little room for error going for it.

How To Watch Wells Fargo Championship

  • Thursday: 2:00-6:00 p.m. Golf Channel, 6:45-6:00 p.m. ESPN+
  • Friday: 2:00-6:00 p.m. Golf Channel, 6:45-6:00 p.m. ESPN+
  • Saturday: 1:00-3:00 p.m. Golf Channel, 7:00-6:00 p.m. ESPN+, 3:00-6:00 p.m. CBS
  • Sunday: 1:00-3:00 p.m. Golf Channel, 7:00-6:00 p.m. ESPN+, 3:00-6:00 p.m. CBS

How To Listen To Wells Fargo Championship

  • Thursday-Friday: 12:00–6:00 p.m. Sirius XM
  • Saturday-Sunday: 1:00–6:00 p.m. Sirius XM

Wells Fargo Championship Field & Betting Odds

This week’s field is headlined by 3 time Wells Fargo Champion Rory McIlroy (+900), who will be attempting to win back to back Wells Fargo Championships. The field features 3 of the top 25 Official World Golf Ranking players in, McIlroy, Tony Finau (+2800) and Abraham Ancer (+3000), though McIlroy is the heavy betting favorite. 

Rory McIlroy+900
Corey Conners+2000
Matt Fitzpatrick+2200
Tony Finau+2800
Marc Leishman+3000
Abraham Ancer+3000
Cameron Young+3500
Russell Henley+3500
Seamus Power+3500
Paul Casey+3500
Gary Woodland+3500
Tyrrell Hatton+3500
Keegan Bradley+3500
Max Homa+4000
Si-Woo Kim+4000
Matt Kuchar+4000
Patrick Reed+4000
Jhonattan Vegas+4000
Sergio Garcia+4000
Webb Simpson+4000
Keith Mitchell+5000
Jason Day+5000
Sepp Straka+5000
Joel Dahmen+5000
Doug Ghim+5500
Brian Harman+5500
Aaron Rai+6000
Kevin Streelman+6500
C.T. Pan+6500
Matt Jones+6500
Brandon Wu+6500
Troy Merritt+6500
Matthew NeSmith+6500
Brendan Steele+7000
Russell Knox+7000
Adam Long+7000
Anirban Lahiri+7000
Branden Grace+8000
Francesco Molinari+8000
David Lipsky+8000
Luke List+8000
Denny McCarthy+8000
Alex Smalley+8000
Lanto Griffin+8000
Cam Davis+8000
Martin Laird+9000
Matthias Schwab+9000
Mark Hubbard+10000
Beau Hossler+10000
J.T. Poston+10000
Rickie Fowler+10000
Dylan Frittelli+10000
Taylor Moore+10000
Lucas Glover+10000
Nate Lashley+10000
Kurt Kitayama+10000
Sam Ryder+12500
Doc Redman+12500
Ryan Armour+12500
Kyoung-Hoon Lee+12500
Sung Kang+12500
Adam Svensson+12500
Mackenzie Hughes+12500
Stewart Cink+12500
Matthew Wolff+12500
Chad Ramey+12500
Greyson Sigg+12500
Tyler Duncan+15000
Matt Wallace+15000
Harry Higgs+15000
Scott Piercy+15000
Kiradech Aphibarnrat+15000
Charl Schwartzel+15000
Nick Taylor+15000
Chez Reavie+15000
Brian Stuard+15000
Andrew Putnam+15000
Kramer Hickok+15000
Lee Hodges+15000
Zach Johnson+15000
Austin Smotherman+15000
Peter Malnati+15000
Stephan Jaeger+15000
Chase Seiffert+17500
Peter Uihlein+17500
Michael Thompson+17500
Rory Sabbatini+20000
Joseph Bramlett+20000
Charley Hoffman+20000
Hayden Buckley+20000
Vince Whaley+20000
Danny Lee+20000
Brice Garnett+20000
Satoshi Kodaira+20000
Trey Mullinax+20000
Cameron Percy+20000
Hank Lebioda+20000
Andrew Novak+20000
Kevin Chappell+20000
Dylan Wu+20000
John Huh+20000
Adam Schenk+20000
Ben Martin+20000
Callum Tarren+25000
Wesley Bryan+25000
James Hahn+25000
Vaughn Taylor+25000
Camilo Villegas+25000
Luke Donald+25000
Brandon Hagy+25000
Justin Lower+30000
Ben Kohles+30000
Kevin Tway+30000
Ryan Blaum+30000
Roger Sloan+30000
Bo Hoag+30000
Henrik Norlander+30000
Paul Barjon+30000
Bill Haas+30000
David Lingmerth+30000
Jonathan Byrd+30000
Chesson Hadley+30000
Nick Watney+30000
Bryson Nimmer+30000
Martin Trainer+35000
Jacob Bridgeman+40000
Max McGreevy+40000
Kelly Kraft+40000
David Skinns+40000
Michael Gligic+40000
Jim Herman+40000
Seth Reeves+40000
Scott Gutschewski+40000
Richy Werenski+40000
Tommy Gainey+40000
Brandon Matthews+40000
Joshua Creel+50000
Dawie Van Der Walt+50000
Aaron Baddeley+50000
Austin Cook+50000
Turk Pettit+50000
Eugenio Lopez-Chacarra+50000
Johnson Wagner+50000
Curtis Thompson+50000
Drew Nesbitt+50000
Brett Drewitt+50000
Jared Wolfe+50000
Nicholas Thompson+50000
Norman Xiong+50000
Jim Knous+50000
William McGirt+50000
Bo Van Pelt+100000
Jonas Blixt+100000
Larkin Gross+100000
Morgan Hoffmann+100000
Greg Odom+100000
Odds via Caesars Sportsbook

Wells Fargo Championship Past Winner

  • 2021 Rory McIlroy (-10)
  • 2020 Canceled due to COVID-19
  • 2019 Max Homa (-15)
  • 2018 Jason Day (-12)
  • 2017 Brian Harman (-10)

Unlock the smartest betting tools on the market

Over 100,000 sports bettors are making BIG profits with OddsJam. Are you next?

Start your free trial

Want free profitable bets directly in your inbox?


Top Betting Sites